Ryan Knaus

The Numbers Game

print article archives RSS

Playoff News Resources

Wednesday, April 19, 2017


Every fantasy owner has benefited and been hurt by late-breaking news. The story is familiar -- DFS lineups just locked, you're congratulating yourself on that clever fade play, and suddenly the centerpiece of your team, LeBron James, is ruled out due to illness. The positive version of this story is when LeBron is ruled out early enough for you to recognize that Kyrie Irving is now a must-play with increased usage, and you make a quick-pivot lineup change to take advantage of the situation.

 

We do our best at Rotoworld to provide instant updates and concise analysis, which wouldn't be possible without the efforts of the league's beat writers. These under-appreciated road warriors show up at shootarounds, press conferences, road and home games, post-game interviews and more, all to provide accurate and timely information to fans. Today's column is devoted to highlighting NBA writers and the newspapers/websites they represent, focusing solely on teams in the playoffs.

 

By following these writers on Twitter, and reading their work on various websites (or in print!), you'll inevitably make more informed decisions when building lineups. Note that I am NOT claiming to make a complete, exhaustive list of writers and papers covering each team. There are innumerable blogs and team-specific sites which are not mentioned, and I'm not linking to official team pages since those are obvious. Any paper, website or person I've excluded is accidental, not purposeful. If there are different resources you find particularly useful, mention them in the comments and/or let me know about them!

 

We'll take each team based upon their postseason matchups, beginning in the East.

 

If you're interested in resources for all 30 teams, check out this page on Rotoworld. It will be thoroughly updated during the offseason, so check back again prior to the 2017-18 season!

 

 

Boston (1) vs. Chicago (8)

 

Celtics papers...

Mass Live: http://www.masslive.com/celtics/

CSNNE.com: http://www.csnne.com/boston-celtics

ESPN Boston: http://www.espn.com/blog/boston/celtics/

Boston Globe: https://www.bostonglobe.com/sports/celtics?p1=BGHeader_MainNav

Boston Herald: http://www.bostonherald.com/sports/celtics

 

Celtics writers...

Chris Forsberg: https://twitter.com/ESPNForsberg

Steve Bulpett: https://twitter.com/SteveBHoop

Adam Himmelsbach: https://twitter.com/AdamHimmelsbach

Jay King: https://twitter.com/ByJayKing

Marc D'Amico: https://twitter.com/Marc_DAmico

A. Sherrod Blakely: https://twitter.com/SherrodbCSN

Bill Doyle: https://twitter.com/BillDoyle15

Mark Murphy: https://twitter.com/Murf56

Sean Grande: https://twitter.com/SeanGrandePBP

Scott Souza: https://twitter.com/Scott_Souza

Tom Westerholm: https://twitter.com/Tom_NBA

Gary Washburn, Kyle Draper, Abby Chin and way too many more...

 

Bulls papers...

Chicago Tribune: http://www.chicagotribune.com/sports/basketball/bulls/

Chicago Sun-Times: http://chicago.suntimes.com/section/bulls/

ESPN Chicago: http://www.espn.com/blog/chicago/bulls/

CSN Chicago: http://www.csnchicago.com/bulls

 

Bulls writers...

Nick Friedell: https://twitter.com/NickFriedell

Sam Smith: https://twitter.com/SamSmithHoops

K.C. Johnson: https://twitter.com/KCJHoop

McGraw: https://twitter.com/McGrawDHBulls

Cody Westerlund: https://twitter.com/CodyWesterlund

 

 

Cleveland (2) vs. Indiana (7)

 

Cavs papers...

Cleveland.com: http://www.cleveland.com/cavs/#/0

Akron Beacon Journal: http://www.ohio.com/sports/cavs

 

Cavs writers/accounts...

Rick Noland: https://twitter.com/RickNoland

Fred McLeod: https://twitter.com/CavsFredMcLeod

Joe Gabriele: https://twitter.com/CavsJoeG

Marla Ridenour: https://twitter.com/MRidenourABJ

Joe Vardon: https://twitter.com/joevardon

Chris Fedor: https://twitter.com/ChrisFedor

 

Pacers papers...

Indianapolis Star: http://www.indystar.com/sports/pacers/

Vigilant Sports: http://www.vigilantsports.com/pacers/

 

Pacers writers/accounts...

Grant Afseth: https://twitter.com/GrantAfseth

Mark Montieth: https://twitter.com/MarkMontieth

Mark Boyle: https://twitter.com/Mark_J_Boyle

Nate Taylor: https://twitter.com/ByNateTaylor

Scott Agness: https://twitter.com/ScottAgness

Pat Boylan: https://twitter.com/PatBoylanPacers

 

 

Toronto (3) vs. Milwaukee (6)

 

Raptors papers...

Toronto Star: https://www.thestar.com/sports/basketball.html

Toronto Sun: http://www.torontosun.com/sports/raptors

Globe & Mail: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/topic/Toronto-Raptors

Sportsnet.ca: http://www.sportsnet.ca/basketball/nba/

 

Raptors writers/accounts...

Josh Lewenberg: https://twitter.com/JLew1050

Mike Ganter: https://twitter.com/Mike_Ganter

Ryan Wolstat: https://twitter.com/WolstatSun

Raptors MR: https://twitter.com/RaptorsMR

Doug Smith: https://twitter.com/SmithRaps

Michael Grange: https://twitter.com/michaelgrange

 

Bucks papers...

Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel: http://www.jsonline.com/sports/bucks/

 

Bucks writers/accounts...

Bucks PR: https://twitter.com/BucksPR

Charles Gardner: https://twitter.com/cf_gardner

Gery Woelfel: https://twitter.com/GeryWoelfel

Ted Davis: https://twitter.com/nbated

Jim Paschke: https://twitter.com/Paschketball

 

 

Washington (4) vs. Atlanta (5)

 

Wizards papers...

Washington Post https://www.washingtonpost.com/sports/wizards/?utm_term=.0982ecbba9e2

CSN Mid-Atlantic http://www.csnmidatlantic.com/washington-wizards

Washington Times http://www.washingtontimes.com/sports/basketball/

 

Wizards writers/accounts...

CSN on Twitter: https://twitter.com/CSNWizards

J. Michael: https://twitter.com/JMichaelCSN

Chris Miller: https://twitter.com/cmillscsn

Candace Buckner: https://twitter.com/CandaceDBuckner

 

Hawks papers...

Atlanta Journal-Constitution: http://www.ajc.com/sports/hawks/

 

Hawks writers/accounts...

Chris Vivlamore: https://twitter.com/CVivlamoreAJC

K.L. Chouinard: https://twitter.com/KLChouinard

Jaryd Wilson: https://twitter.com/JarydWilson

 

 

Golden State (1) vs. Portland (8)

 

Warriors papers...

SF Gate: http://www.sfgate.com/warriors/

CSN Bay Area: http://www.csnbayarea.com/warriors

Mercury News: http://www.mercurynews.com/sports/golden-state-warriors/#eastbaytimes

 

Warriors writers/accounts...

Anthony Slater: https://twitter.com/anthonyVslater

Warriors PR: https://twitter.com/WarriorsPR

Monte Poole: https://twitter.com/MontePooleNBCS

Connor Letourneau: https://twitter.com/Con_Chron

Tim Kawakami: https://twitter.com/timkawakami

 

Blazers papers...

Oregonian: http://www.oregonlive.com/blazers/

CSNNW.com: http://www.csnnw.com/portland-trail-blazers

 

Blazers writers/accounts...

Trail Blazers PR: https://twitter.com/TrailBlazersPR

Joe Freeman: https://twitter.com/BlazerFreeman

Mike Richman: https://twitter.com/mikegrich

Jason Quick: https://twitter.com/jwquick

Erik Gundersen: https://twitter.com/blazerbanter

Casey Holdahl: https://twitter.com/CHold

 

 

 

San Antonio (2) vs. Memphis (7)

 

Spurs papers...

San Antonio Express-News: http://www.mysanantonio.com/sports/spurs/

 

Spurs writers/accounts...

Jabari Young: https://twitter.com/JabariJYoung

Tom Orsborn: https://twitter.com/tom_orsborn

Jordan Howenstine: https://twitter.com/AirlessJordan

Mike Monroe: https://twitter.com/Monroe_SA

 

Grizzlies papers...

Memphis Commercial Appeal: http://www.commercialappeal.com/grizzlies

 

Grizzlies writers/accounts...

Grizzlies PR: https://twitter.com/GrizzliesPR

Rob Fischer: https://twitter.com/thefishnation

Ronald Tillery: https://twitter.com/CAGrizBeat

Chris Herrington: https://twitter.com/HerringtonNBA

Michael Wallace: https://twitter.com/MyMikeCheck

Peter Edmiston: https://twitter.com/peteredmiston

 

 

Houston (3) vs. Oklahoma City (6)

 

Rockets papers...

Houston Chronicle: http://www.chron.com/sports/rockets/

 

Rockets writers/accounts...

Jonathan Feigen: https://twitter.com/Jonathan_Feigen

Jenny Dial Creech: https://twitter.com/jennydialcreech

Calvin Watkins: https://twitter.com/calvinwatkins

Craig Ackerman: https://twitter.com/ca_rockets

Brian T. Smith: https://twitter.com/ChronBrianSmith

Mark Berman: https://twitter.com/MarkBermanFox26

 

Thunder papers...

Oklahoman: http://www.newsok.com/sports/thunder

 

 

Thunder writers/accounts...

Brett Dawson: https://twitter.com/BDawsonWrites

Cliff Brunt: https://twitter.com/CliffBruntAP

Fred Katz: https://twitter.com/FredKatz

Randy Renner: https://twitter.com/RandyRenner

 

 

L.A. Clippers (4) vs. Utah (5)

 

Clippers papers...

L.A. Times: http://www.latimes.com/sports/clippers/

O.C. Register: http://www.ocregister.com/sports/nba/clippers/

L.A. Daily News: http://www.dailynews.com/los-angeles-clippers

 

Clippers writers/accounts...

Clippers PR: https://twitter.com/ClippersPR

Bill Oram: https://twitter.com/billoram

Brad Turner: https://twitter.com/BA_Turner

Ralph Lawler: https://twitter.com/Ohmeomy

 

 

Jazz papers...

Salt Lake Tribune: http://www.sltrib.com/jazz

Deseret News: http://www.deseretnews.com/sports/utah-jazz

 

Jazz writers/accounts...

Jazz PR https://twitter.com/UtahJazzPR

Tony Jones: https://twitter.com/tribjazz

Jody Gennessy: https://twitter.com/DJJazzyJody

Andy Larsen: https://twitter.com/andyblarsen

David Locke: https://twitter.com/Lockedonsports



Despite residing in Portland, Maine, Ryan Knaus remains a heartbroken Sonics fan who longs for the days of Shawn Kemp and Xavier McDaniel. He has written for Rotoworld.com since 2007. You can follow him on Twitter.
Email :Ryan Knaus



Highest Searched Players over the last 7 days



Video Center

  •  
    Norris: Saints Team Needs

    Norris: Saints Team Needs
  •  
    Norris: Bucs Team Needs

    Norris: Bucs Team Needs
  •  
    Norris: Falcons Team Needs

    Norris: Falcons Team Needs
  •  
    Norris: Panthers Team Needs

    Norris: Panthers Team Needs
  •  
    Norris: NFL Mock, Picks 1-10

    Norris: NFL Mock, Picks 1-10
  •  
    Norris: NFL Mock, Picks 11-20

    Norris: NFL Mock, Picks 11-20
  •  
    Norris: NFL Mock, Picks 21-32

    Norris: NFL Mock, Picks 21-32
  •  
    Norris: Cardinals Team Needs

    Norris: Cardinals Team Needs

 
I'm a dialog