Anthony Ballantoni


print article archives RSS

Wrapup: CMS All-Star, Trucks

Sunday, May 21, 2017

This was an off weekend for NASCAR’s Monster Energy Cup and XFINITY Series. The Camping World Truck Series held the NC Education Lottery 200 on Friday night at the Charlotte Motor Speedway (CMS) in Concord, North Carolina. The Cup Series was still active at CMS on Saturday with the MENCS Open and the annual MENCS All-Star non-points races.

The 20-car field for Saturday night's All-Star race was set based on Friday's qualifying order of the 16 eligible drivers, the three Stage winners of the MENCS Open, run on Saturday night, and one driver chosen by race fan voting. After qualifying, Kyle Larson won the pole followed by, respectively, Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kurt Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Brad Keselowski, Matt Kenseth, Denny Hamlin, Jamie McMurray, Chris Buescher, Joey Logano, Kasey Kahne, Martin Truex Jr., Ryan Newman and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Those drivers were joined by the three MENCS Open Stage winners: Clint Bowyer, Ryan Blaney and Daniel Suarez. Finally, the fans vote winner, Chase Elliott, rounded out the 20-car line-up.

Winner: Kyle Busch (No. 18 M&M's Caramel Toyota) was the winner of the Monster Energy All-Star race. It was his first win in his 12th attempt; the largest number of starts before an All-Star Race win - previous record was held by Tony Stewart with 11 All-Star starts before his win in 2009. Kyle Larson, who also won Stage 1 and 2 in the event, finished runner-up. Jimmie Johnson won Stage 3. He also finished the event third, his ninth top-five finish in race - a series-most.

The Cup and XFINITY series will return to action next weekend at Charlotte. The results and upcoming scheduled events for the ARCA Racing Series, NASCAR Home Tracks and other covered series are also shown below.

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (MENCS)

Standings: Kyle Larson leads the point standings by 44 points over Martin Truex Jr.

Top 16 - Chase Contenders:
1. Kyle Larson
2. Martin Truex Jr.
3. Brad Keselowski
4. Chase Elliott
5. Jamie McMurray
6. Kevin Harvick
7. Kyle Busch
8. Jimmie Johnson
9. Joey Logano
10. Clint Bowyer
11. Ryan Blaney
12. Denny Hamlin
13. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
14. Trevor Bayne
15. Kurt Busch
16. Kasey Kahne

Next Points Event: Sunday, May 28, Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway (1.5-mile oval in Concord, NC)

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Standings: Elliott Sadler leads the point standings by 29 points over Justin Allgaier.

Top 12 - Chase Contenders:
1. Elliott Sadler
2. Justin Allgaier
3. William Byron
4. Darrell Wallace Jr.
5. Daniel Hemric
6. Michael Annett
7. Matt Tifft
8. Ryan Reed
9. Blake Koch
10. Brennan Poole
11. Dakoda Armstrong
12. Cole Custer

Next: Saturday, May 27, Hisense 4k TV 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway (1.5-mile oval in Concord, NC)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS)
Time Trials: Christopher Bell (No. 4 SiriusXM Toyota Tundra) won the Keystone Light Pole Award for the North Carolina Education Lottery 200 with a lap
of 180.892 mph. This is his third pole in 35 NCWTS races. It is his third pole and fifth top-10 start in 2017 and his first pole in two races at CMS. Chase
Briscoe (second), the fastest qualifying Rookie of the Year contender making his first start at CMS, posted his third top-10 start of 2017. Johnny Sauter (third)
posted his fifth top-10 start at CMS. It is his fifth in five races this season.
Did not qualify: No. 86 Brandon Brown and No. 12 Cody Ware.

Results: MENCS driver Kyle Busch, driving his No. 51 Cessna Toyota Tundra, won the NC Education Lottery 200, his 48th victory in 136 NCWTS races. This
is his second victory and second top-10 NCWTS finish in 2017. It is his seventh victory and 10th top-10 finish in 11 NCWTS races at CMS. Johnny Sauter
(second) posted his fourth top-10 finish in nine races at CMS and his fourth top-10 finish in 2017. Pole-sitter Christopher Bell (third) led two laps of the
134-lap event and posted his second top-10 finish in two races at CMS. Grant Enfinger (seventh) was the highest finishing Rookie of the Year contender.

Standings: Johnny Sauter leads the point standings by 15 points over Christopher Bell.

Top 8 - Chase Contenders:
1. Johnny Sauter
2. Christopher Bell
3. Matt Crafton
4. Chase Briscoe
5. Ben Rhodes
6. Timothy Peters
7. Grant Enfinger
8. Kaz Grala

Next: Friday, June 2, Bar Harbor 200 Dover Int’l Speedway (1-mile concrete oval in Delaware)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Home Tracks
K&N Pro Series-East
(twin 100-lap races on Saturday)
May 6, at South Boston Speedway (0.4-mile oval in VA)
Pole: Chase Cabre
Winner of 1st Twin 100:  Travis Miller
Winner of 2nd Twin 100: Harrison Burton
Points Leader: Harrison Burton
Next: June 3, Memphis 125 at Memphis Int’l Raceway (0.75-mile tri-oval in Millington, TN)

K&N Pro Series-West
May 20, Orange Show 150 at Orange Show Speedway (0.25-mile oval in San Bernardino, CA)
Winner: Chris Eggleston  -Pole: Chris Eggleston   -Points Leader: Todd Gilliland
Next: June 10, Toyota 150 at Colorado National Speedway (0.375-mile oval in Dacono, CO)

Pinty’s Series
May 21, Can-Am 200 at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (2.459-mile road course near Bowmanville, Ontario)
Winner: Kevin Lacroix    -Pole: Kevin Lacroix   -Points Leader: Kevin Lacroix
Next: June 3, Choko/Fast Eddie 250 at Delaware Speedway (0.5-mile oval in Delaware, Ontario)

Whelen Modified Tour
May 13 at City of Hampton 150 at Langley Speedway (0.4-mile oval in Hampton, VA)
Winner: Timmy Solomito  -Pole: Doug Coby    -Points Leader: Timmy Solomito
Next: June 14 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (0.625-mile oval in CT)

Peak Mexico Series
May 14, Red Cola 120 at Autodromo Miguel E. Abed (1.25-mile oval in Puebla, Mexico)
Winner: Abraham Calderon    -Pole: Abraham Calderon    -Points Leader: Ruben Rovelo
Next: June 4 at Trióvalo Internacional de Cajititlán (0.84-miles tri-oval in Jalisco, Mexico)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Other Series
ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
May 21, Menards 200 at Toledo Speedway (0.5-mile oval in OH)
Winner: Harrison Burton   -Pole : Dalton Sargeant *   -Points Leader: Austin Theriault
* Qualifying rained out, field set by practice speeds. Sargeant not credited with a pole.
Next: June 3, Shore Lunch 250 at Elko Speedway (0.375-mile oval in Elko, MN)

Southern Modified Racing Series
April 14, Keller Williams Realty 125 at Caraway Speedway (0.455-mile oval in Sophia, NC)
Winner: Tim Brown   -Pole: Brandon Ward  -Points Leader: Brandon Ward
Next: June 1 at Hickory Motor Speedway (0.363-mile oval in Newton, NC)

EXIT Realty Modified Touring Series
April 22 at Monadnock Speedway (0.25-mile oval in Winchester, NH)
Winner: Ryan Preece   -Pole: Jon McKennedy  -Points Leader: Ryan Preece
Postponed: May 6 at New London-Waterford Speedbowl (0.375-mile oval in CT)
Next: June 6 at  Stafford Motor Speedway (0.5-mile oval in Stafford Springs, CT)

Tony Ballantoni runs the NASCAR coverage at
Email :Anthony Ballantoni

NASCAR Headlines

View All Headlines
Headlines: NFL | MLB | NBA | NHL | GOLF | NAS | CFB | PL

Highest Searched Drivers over the last 7 days

Video Center

    Jesse: MLB Power Rankings

    Jesse: MLB Power Rankings
    Short: Waiver Wire

    Short: Waiver Wire
    Short: Saves & Steals

    Short: Saves & Steals
    Jesse: MLB Power Rankings

    Jesse: MLB Power Rankings
    Boyer: Hot Hitters

    Boyer: Hot Hitters
    Short: Waiver Wire

    Short: Waiver Wire
    Short: Saves & Steals

    Short: Saves & Steals
    Jesse: MLB Power Rankings

    Jesse: MLB Power Rankings



Wrapup: CMS All-Star, Trucks
May 21

Wrap-up of the NASCAR All-Star, Open and Truck races at Charlotte (NC) Motor Speedway.

NAS Headlines